The Aging Well Edit

“For old people, beauty doesn’t come free with the hormones, the way it does for the young… It has to do with who the person is.”

Ursula K. Le Guin

Youth – just like happiness – is mainly a state of mind.

It’s seeing the glass half-full, celebrating the little things and learning to take care of our bodies and minds, making the most of what we have. It’s about prioritising our health and well-being, working daily towards our goals.

Having recently turned 31, I’ve gone through a pretty tough quarter-life crisis – I questioned my goals and decisions, doubted my achievements, felt like time was slipping through my fingers while I was standing still.

Now, that I’m more in peace with my life and looking forward to what’s ahead again, I’m surprisingly curious about the idea of aging. I don’t want to fear my birthdays anymore, but learn to celebrate every day I’m given.

Aging is a privilege that not everyone is lucky enough to experience. When I look at the older women around me, I notice and admire their quiet confidence, joy of life and serene wisdom gained through a variety of experiences.

I want to grow older feeling strong and naturally beautiful. I want to welcome every upcoming birthday with pride and curiosity, preserving and nourishing my ability to move my body and continuously spark new conversations.

Here’s a list of articles that inspired me to look at my daily choices and healthy habits a little differently – not as a source of immediate gratification (or a punishment), but an investment for the future.

The Secret To Looking Young Forever – Goop

“Cognitive decline can be treated with lifestyle changes. When you take care of the brain, it takes care of your mind and, by extension, you.”

Diane Von Furstenberg Shares Her Philosophy On Aging – Vogue

“Aging is out of your control. How you handle it, though, is in your hands. (…) My face reflects the wind and sun and rain and dust from the trips I’ve taken. My face carries all my memories. Why should I erase them?”

Grace Paley On The Art Of Aging – Brain Pickings

“What? What lady? Old? I’m not vain or unrealistic. For the last twenty years my mirror seems to have reflected — correctly — a woman getting older, not a woman old.”

Tracey Anderson On Aging Well – Goop

“Accepting the fact that how you move, why you move, and how often you move is the most powerful tool that you have in terms of how your body looks and feels: This is a fact that is never going to change.”

11 Things Cameron Diaz Taught Me About Aging – Mind Body Green

“Beauty appreciates, not depreciates. It grows, not fades. With age, I have developed a more nuanced understanding of what beauty really is. Beauty is not just something you are born with. Beauty is something you grow into.”

Aging Gracefully, The French Way – NY Times

“Françoise Sagan once wrote, There is a certain age when a woman must be beautiful to be loved, and then there comes a time when she must be loved to be beautiful.

How To Not Look Old And Tired – Goop 

“Whether you know it or not, you are affecting your own genetics daily and perhaps even hourly through the foods you eat, the air you breathe, and even the thoughts you think.”

Linda Rodin’s Bold Lipstick Technique – Into The Gloss

“You reach a point and say That’s OK.’ In the end, nobody’s perfect, and we’re all doing the best we can.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Sara Silva Natária says:

    Hi! First of all, congratulations on your blog, it’s beautiful and meaningful 🙂 I recently found this -https://www.brainpickings.org/2014/05/16/anne-lamott-people-pleasing-haters-trolls/ – and it reminded me of some of your posts. Plus, I have a question: what’s your wordpress theme, I like it very much and I would love to try it on my blog! Kisses, and stay happy 😉

    Like

    1. Thanks Sara, glad you’re here! I’m using Dyad – happy you like it. Thanks for your message and the link, it was spot on. Hugs, Kasia

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Sara Silva Natária says:

        Hi Kasia, thank you 🙂 I would like to group the posts according to their subjects, like you did, I’ll try it and see how it works 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

