The Happiness Challenge #3

I’ve been flirting with the idea of a self-imposed shopping ban for around six moths now. By slowly streamlining, decluttering and reducing my possessions, I realised I need much less than I thought.

Limiting my purchases has also helped me optimise my budget, which in turn led to a surprising sense of freedom, peace and lightness. Who would have thought I don’t actually like shopping?

I’ve stopped buying magazines, unnecessary cosmetics and home decor, except for candles and essentials oils – but only after I ran out. As for fashion, I try to buy a couple of strategic pieces per season.

My biggest unresolved weakness? Books. So far, I’ve managed to significantly reduce my collection – giving them away to friends and libraries – but I still love buying them, despite having a decent pile of unread ones.

I was pretty much ready to buy a Kindle, which I thought would solve my problems – I could buy as many books I’d want, no space necessary. But then I realised: buying a solution is basically where my problem began.

So I’ve decided to tackle the issue differently: no Kindle and no new books until I go through the stack of the unread ones. Once I’ve read or donated all of them, I’ll be allowed to buy a Kindle – if I still find it fitting.

Just in case you’re wondering, the same rule applies to magazine – I still have a couple I haven’t read from cover to cover. As for potential exceptions, I might need to buy a textbook for a language course – but that’s it.

This challenge should help me figure out if l actually need a Kindle and consider other possible solutions to my bookworm problems. I also think it’s a good test-drive before a bigger shopping ban.

Last but not least, I love the idea of creating a capsule collection of only the most memorable, meaningful books and finding new ways to keep’em coming – while reducing the spendings and storage space.

Have you ever done a challenge like this? Do you wish you could live more simply? Please, drop me a line in the comments section below.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. You know, growing up, I didn’t know the term “minimalist.” But my mom taught me a few things such as, you only need a pair of black, a pair of brown, and a light-colored pair of shoes. Everything else, only as a treat on an amazing deal very occasionally. As a teenager, I hardly listened, but now I live by it.

    Like

    1. Thank so much for sharing your thoughts! Indeed, I think it’s just the label “minimalism” that’s new. The concept itself simply rediscovers the tried and tested truths and values that previous generations perhaps were more familiar with.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

