Spring Cleaning

So I’ve been going through my old notebook lately – one I’d started a little over a year ago. A collection of quotes and captions I found inspiring at that time, it helped me realise how much progress I’ve made since then.

While I’m still struggling to admit I’ve succeeded, I believe I’m on the right track: more calm, conscious and confident.

At the same time, I often feel lost and uncertain. Leaving my current comfort zone and pushing past the well-known boundaries means taking risk: empowering and energising – yes, but also tiring and terrifying.

It means letting go of people, ideas, expectations, desires – and so much more. In the best-case scenario, the welcoming of the new is right there to greet you. More often than not, the old world falls apart but the new has not yet come together.

Clearing out the clutter – physical, emotional and mental – allows us to get going again. Making space for what really matters helps us make better, more mindful choices, ultimately bringing us closer to where we want to be.  

The process of periodically recalibrating our values and goals helps us go through the challenging times – a personal roadmap through transition. It builds an inner confidence and alignment with who we truly are.

Here’s my personal list of 10 things to keep in mind when bouncing back to a more balanced, rich and joyful life – every single time. As simple as it may sound, it’s become my compass, always guiding me towards more joy, ease, flow and fulfilment.

  1. Take less. Give more.
  2. Work less. Live more.
  3. Do less. Be more.
  4. Speak less. Listen more.
  5. Buy less. Simplify more.
  6. Fear less. Dream more.
  7. Worry less. Appreciate more.
  8. Assume less. Ask more.
  9. Criticise less. Praise more. 
  10. Hate less. Love more.
Leave a Reply

