Lighter. Easier. Happier.

“It is not the man who has too little, but the man who craves more, that is poor.”

Seneca

Over the course of the past six months, I’ve simplified a lot. My diet, my home, my love life – all these areas have become subject to a slow yet significant change.

Far from making any radical adjustments, I’ve really enjoyed the gradual, sustainable shifts that allowed me to experiment and determine what was enough for me.

As I’m still seeking and investigating, striving to find the right balance, I do it with no end point in mind. In fact, just getting rid of things is not my intention.

I want to discover what matters most to me. At its core, minimalism is about prioritising things we most value and removing anything that distracts us from it.

Purging my possessions taught me to be selective, to identify the non-negotiables. It also helped me realize how much time I’d spent pursuing things that weren’t really worth it.

Eventually, the principles of minimalism started creeping into other areas of my life. More time, less stress, more freedom, less frustration, more money, less distraction – these have become my new goals, my essentials.

Curious? Give it a try. Just one small step down the right path is enough to start heading in the right direction. Here are a few ideas that helped me find a simpler, happier life.

  1. Declutter your space. Everything in our eyesight subtly pulls at our attention at least a little. Eliminate the unnecessary to regain focus.
  2. Find a place for everything. Discover the rhythms of your day to make the most of them. Keep things organized and clean as you go.
  3. Streamline your beauty routine. Get a simple, no-fuss hairstyle. Keep makeup minimal and buy the right products in bundles.
  4. Put your closet on a diet. Get rid of everything you don’t really wear. Be brave and make deep cuts, but do it a little at a time.
  5. Limit your buying habits. Ask yourself “Do I really need this?” all the time. Less stuff, less spending, less stress.
  6. Reduce your media consumptions. Turn off smartphone notifications. Limit television. Cancel magazine and newsletter subscriptions.
  7. Keep your email inbox empty. An uncluttered mailbox – just like an uncluttered desk, or desktop – feels liberating and energizing.
  8. Go for quality, not quantity. Choose a few possessions that you love and that will last for a long time. Decide for yourself what really matters.
  9. Travel light. Contrary to my expectations, carrying less baggage feels fantastic. Using only one carry-on helps to save money, too.
  10. Forget perfection. For the majority of tasks, good enough is good enough. Stop living distracted over the opinion of people who don’t matter.
One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

