What Is Intuition?

“Your intuition is the most honest friend you will ever have.”

Doe Zantamata

Let me start by saying that I’m extremely mind-centred. I tend to overthink, overanalyze and obsess over tiny, seemingly insignificant details, which in most cases leads to anxiety, self-doubts and – eventually – exhaustion.

For years, I’ve ignored my intuitive side, dismissing it as unrealistic, unreliable and implausible. Every now and then, when that little voice in my head would get loud enough for me to hear it, I simply ignored it.

I’ve learned to control my emotions, numb my needs and let myself be guided by the self-imposed, often unrealistic standards and values. I was afraid to let my heart take the lead, scared of what it might have to say.

You see, knowing that we’re right is fairly easy. However, most often, it’s not the “knowing” that is the case. It’s the trusting.

Trusting that our feelings are valid, that our observations are not all in our head. Trusting that we know what is true for us. And then trusting that we have enough courage to take action on what we feel is right.

We stay safe and refrain from speaking up, we rationalise to avoid possible failures and discomfort. We protect ourselves, instead of taking the much needed leap of faith. Faith in our own capacities, inner strength and resilience.

I’ve spent the past few years constantly asking for feedback, consulting every decision – big or small – believing that other people knew something that I didn’t. I was terrified of taking full responsibility for my life.

Trusting our intuition means trusting ourselves. It means pursuing what we want, knowing that we can survive mistakes. It means being aware of our feelings and expressing them freely, with no judgement.

It’s an invitation to develop a relationship with your core self, to become our own best friend. It requires getting in touch with our values and personal integrity, honouring our emotions and needs, focusing on balance and self-care.

Do you think we all have an intuition? Do you think intuition matters? I’d love to hear your thoughts on this. You can share your insights by joining the conversation in the comment section below

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

