Happy Dating

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I’m a happy single gal. Although it wasn’t always the case, I’ve learned to truly love my freedom, value my independence and am in absolutely no rush to give that up for the first guy that comes along.

Contrary to what a lot of my coupled friends think, I enjoy coming back home to an empty house, having the whole bed for myself and re-watching my favourite episodes of Sex and The City, while sipping a cup of dairy- and sugar-free hot chocolate.

That being said, at some point of my live, I’d like to fall in love again, find the right person at the right time. So, after a successful dating detox, I’ve decided to overcome my fear and put myself out there again.

Here’s what I’ve learned so far.

1. Courage

Connecting with others and showing our authentic, vulnerable side requires throwing caution to the wind and getting comfortable with the idea of uncertainty and rejection.

2. Connection

By noticing the positive aspects and thoughts, rather than nitpicking potential red flags and deal breakers, it’s easier for me to stay open and curious about the other person.

3. Calm 

Calm does not mean lack of interest or boredom. It means I’m confident enough to put my needs first, establish boundaries and balance. It means giving and receiving in reciprocal fashion.

What are your thoughts and experiences? I’d love to hear from you. Share your comments or questions in the section below.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. rootsofstrength says:

    yessss, i’ve been in a relationship for 2+ years now, but it is only worth it because i enjoy somebody else as much as i enjoy my own company

    Like

    1. That’s a very good point, thanks for your comment!

      Like

Leave a Reply

