Self-Care Sunday

Weekends are never long enough. After the initial excitement of Fridays and Saturdays spent completing the household chores, Sundays are pretty much my last chance to stop, slow down and rest.

Easier said than done, though. After a couple of weekends spent binge watching and napping on the couch – enjoyable but ineffective – I’ve started searching for other strategies to recharge my body and mind for the week ahead.

What I’m struggling to acknowledge is this: self-care is not a guilty pleasure. It’s not the same as pampering. It is not a privilege, a reward, a distraction.

Self-care is about self-respect and allignmnet. It’s a fundamental piece of our lives. It’s a necessity. 

Meeting one’s own needs tends to make a person more able to help and support others and, generally speaking, to obtain more happiness and fulfillment from life. It’s a basic need of refueling mentally, physically and spiritually. Not just to function, but to flourish.

It’s about giving ourselves what we actually need. A conscious act of tuning into our cravings.

Here’s how I make sure I’m actually enjoying my Sundays.

  • Allow

I love starting my days with a morning yoga class. However, after an especially tough week, I notice that the need for rest is much stronger than the desire to exercise. So I’m learning to let go of any expectations and allow myself to do whatever it takes to relax.

  • Nourish

When we’re tired and overworked, we tend to neglect our dietary needs. Instead, it’s essential to nourish our bodies with the best foods possible. On Sundays, I finally have the time to try out a new recipe and treat myself to a little something special.

  • Sleep

I love getting up early, creating that time for myself – a morning routine that sets the tone for the day ahead – and weekends are no exception. That’s why I make it my priority to go to bed a little bit earlier to make sure that I start the following week off right.

  • Organize

I like spending my Sundays planning and prepping healthy meals for the week ahead. It’s also a good day for laundry, groceries are tackling those small tasks that I know will make the start of the following week smooth and stress-free.

  • Indulge

From a DIY spa treatment to a long walk in the park, Sunday is the perfect day for indulging in the little luxuries we don’t have time for on a weeknight. It may feel like an effort at times, but – trust me – it’s totally worth it.

  • Learn

I make it my priority to observe, read and write pretty much every day – especially during weekends. From a new cookbook to an interesting movie, I consider staying curious an absolute necessity and dedicate myself to discovering new things daily.

What are your strategies to unwind and de-stress? Feel free to share in the comments section below.

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. thephotoguidebook says:

    Sleeping and indulging–so important!

    Like

    1. Thanks for reading, Courtney!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marine says:

    Going for a walk with my love and my doggy on a late Sunday afternoon and cooking new vegan recipe 😊

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for sharing, Marine!

      Like

Leave a Reply

