Dating Detox

Over the last four years, I’ve been dating a lot. In fact, there has rarely been a week when I wouldn’t go out on a romantic rendezvous of some sort.

It was a surprising reaction to a breakup, and yet I was craving company and – above all – reassurance that the end of a relationship doesn’t mean the absolute end of love.

From today’s perspective, I can finally see it was almost an addiction, a desperate attempt to experience appreciation and find hope and again.

Since then, I’ve gone through a phase of self-imposed dating detox. I still go out occasionally, but only if I consider it really worth my time.

Sounds selfish, I know. But believe me, those Tinder nightmares you might have heard of are a grim reality of modern dating.

Surprisingly enough, this new approach has led to far better results: I am more confident and optimistic about the desirable outcome.

In the meantime, I’ve learned that being single can feel fantastic and I’m waiting for no man, while I make my own magic happen.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I can really relate to this post! Good on you, I think what you’re doing is the way to go, you seem a lot more sure of yourself and your decisions.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment and encouragement. So happy to hear the post resonated with you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

