5 Simple Happiness Hacks

“Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.”

Leonardo Da Vinci

We live in a society that’s constantly overstimulated and overwhelmed with information and images, options and opinions, sounds and situations.

This disrupts our worldview and the sense of what’s real, leading to anxiety, uncertainty and restlessness that, ultimately, result in lower levels of happiness. What’s worse, this heightened¬†sensitivity is mentally and physically addictive.

The solution? Reducing our sensory overload by identifying and taking control over situations that contribute to feelings of stress, psychological burnout and exhaustion.

A self-proclaimed introvert, I find dealing with specific experiences difficult and emotionally draining. I noticed I need to take care of myself even more to guard my energy from the extroverts around me.

That’s how I developed these simple strategies that, over time, helped me save my sanity.

1. Disable Push Notifications

Do you ever find yourself trying to focus on work, yet all you can think of is that cute guy that hasn’t returned your text? Turns out, life gets a lot easier without your multiple devices buzzing and blinking back at you all the time.

2. Cancel Email Subscriptions

We keep buying things we don’t need because of that limited time, last chance offer. Cutting the commercial clutter not only helped me improve my subjective sense of balance, but also move towards a greater financial freedom.

3. Filter Information Flow

I used to love gossip. Now I wonder, how on earth could hearing that someone is addicted, abusive or unfaithful was supposed to boost my optimistic outlook on life? I’ve decided to cut the drama and learn to see the best in people instead.

4. Simplify Your Routine

I’ve always been interested in beauty industries. I loved playing with products and trying out new trends. Who would have thought that the less is more approach would make me feel so much freer, lighter and more confident about my looks?

5. Schedule Me-Time
You already know that I colour code my agenda to keep my busy life more balanced. That’s how I’ve learned to set guilt-free time slots dedicated to – you guessed it – myself. From Netflix marathons to DIY beauty treatments, it really helps me recharge, reset and refocus.
What about you? How do you overcome overwhelm? Feel free to share in the comments below.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Katey says:

    For me, I love being out in nature. I’m lucky to live near some really gorgeous scenery, so disconnecting and going in a hike really helps me recharge. I also try and do something creative such as drawing or writing, even reading.
    Thank you for your post, it’s really insightful!

    Like

    1. Hi Katey, you’re so right, I keep forgetting how healing nature and creativity can be. Thank you for commenting and sharing the tips!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

