Thankful Thursday #1

“Every day may not be good… but there’s something good in every day.”

Alice Morse Earle

OK, you guessed it. I’ve had a bad day today. 

Nothing particularly dramatic or newsworthy. Just an average, overwhelming workday. Truth be told, I’ve been ready for a career change for some time now and, for whatever reason, I’m still waiting for the right option to come along.

Although it had always been my dream job, my current position as a fashion writer feels more frustrating than fulfilling and it can be challenging to get through the day without burdening my colleagues with the negativity I’m feeling.

As I was heading home, I started pondering ideas for my next post, only to realise that my mind was still processing the unpleasant thoughts, rather than enjoying the long awaited freedom.

So here I am, sitting on a sunny day in the heart of Amsterdam, sipping my alcohol-free drink, trying with all my force to focus on the present moment, consciously bringing attention to what went well and what I’m grateful for.

1. The Sun

After having spent eight years in Italy, where good weather is pretty much taken for granted, I experience the sunny days in Amsterdam with wondrous awe – an absolute rarity that deserves to be cherished and devotedly celebrated.

2. My Hair

Self-love is not exactly my strength, so I’m pleasantly surprised to notice how much I’m enjoying it in this sunny, slightly windy weather – messy and unbrushed à la parisienne, according to my beauty muse, Caroline de Maigret.

3. This Blog

It’s been only a few days since its tentative launch and, to my own surprise, I’m experiencing an outburst of ideas. Since my job has been giving me little to no satisfaction lately, having this tiny corner of creativity is beyond rewarding.

What are you grateful for today? Feel free to use the comments section below to write down at least three things that went well, however big or small they may be.

By consciously choosing and repeatedly focusing on the positives, we can not only instantly improve our mood, but also gradually train our brains to notice the bright side of things in future.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

