10 Tech Happiness Hacks

Before I started my quest for well-being, I was struggling on so many levels: insomnia, binge eating, medications and alcohol, to name but a few.

And although I’m still not completely healed and happy, I’m incredibly grateful for every day of this journey and all the little changes I’ve experienced along the way.

One of the very first things I did, two years ago or so, was to create a list of small, sustainable actions that I could put into practice right then and there, without any preparation or support.

The list consisted of very basic needs, like getting enough sleep, drinking more water, moving daily and learning to meditate. It gave me a sense of much needed empowerment over my body, mind and spirit.

It felt like the tip of an emotional iceberg, but also as the very first step towards something bigger – something that I’m still trying to define and reach. 

The only “tools” I needed were discipline, determination and – as it turned out – a few very helpful apps to track my progress, bring awareness to my habits and teach me the skills I wanted to learn.

I’ve tried and tested many of them before finding the few that really delivered results I had been aiming at. So here it is: the hotlist of my favourite, happiness-boosting apps.

1. Create Inner Peace

In my long struggle with insomnia, I was often relying on a highly addictive anti-anxiety pill. This deeply relaxing recording repeatedly allowed me to drift off to sleep, when my brain was wide-awake.

2. Happy Scale

Healthy eating is hard enough. This app proves that slow and steady wins the race by showing a more positive perspective, setting small milestone goals and monitoring your overall weight trends.

3. Insight Timer

This very simple and very effective app times and tracks your sessions, while connecting you with a community of more than 1,000,000 meditators across the globe.

4. Stop, Breathe & Think 

A friendly, simple tool for people who want to learn meditation, created by a non-profit organisation that envisions people across the globe connected by kindness and compassion.

5. Mind Body

An aspiring yogi, I use this app multiple times a day to book and keep track of my fitness appointments and find classes in different cities – especially handy when travelling.

6. Mood Mint

This app is an example of cognitive bias modification game, which combines a variety of psychological techniques to help boost your mood and underlie a more optimistic frame of mind.

7. Smart Budget

Compulsive spending is often used to soothe unpleasant emotionsThis app helps you track your habits and encourages a more mindful money management, when you feel like overspending.

8. Strides

Setting smart goals and tracking progress is an important part of my well-being education. This app offers customisable templates, progress charts and a clean, functional design.

9. The Work

The Work of Byron Katie is a way of identifying and questioning the thoughts that cause unpleasant emotions – the same tactic used by cognitive therapists.

10. Wave

Beautifully designed and easy to navigate, this app helped me bring a bit more balance into my life. How? Perhaps a silly strategy, but colour coding has been a guide to keeping my life more mindful and sustainable.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

